New Ventures Maine is served by an Advisory Council whose members are appointed by the Governor. The Advisory Council serves in a strategic planning capacity, supports the development, marketing and advocacy of the agency, and hosts the Biennial Funders’ Reception. Advisory Council members are chosen to represent a range of interests, skills and abilities and geographic areas and include past program participants.

Advisory Council members provide important links to and from education, business, and non-profits and offer significant role models of community leadership to staff and program participants alike.

Current members:

  • Sarah Halpin (Chair) – Back Cove Financial
  • Jonathan Henry – University of Maine at Augusta
  • Karen Garland-Kidder – Healthy Community Coalition of Greater Franklin County
  • Molly O’Connell – Maine Association of Nonprofits
  • Dannel Malloy – University of Maine System
  • Sarah Ruef-Lindquist – Allen Financial
  • Cheryl Timberlake – Capitol Insights
  • Deirdre Wadsworth – Hardypond Construction
  • Laura Warner – Biddeford Savings
  • Michael Young – United Way of Southern Maine

For more information please contact Janet Smith, Executive Director, at (207) 621-3437 or janet.smith@maine.edu